MD, PhD.Professor of Microbiology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kinshasa; Director General of the National Institute of Biomedical Research (INRB);President of the Congolese Academyof Sciences (ACCOS).

Doctor of Medicine, Surgery and Childbirth, Lovanium University of Kinshasa in 1969;

Co-discoverer of the Ebola virus in 1976and Co-inventor of the monoclonal antibody “mAb114”, approved by FDA as an Ebola treatment under the name “EBANGA” in December 2020 ;

Winner of the Christophe Mérieux Prize, 2015 (Paris), for his pioneering work on Ebola hemorrhagic fever in Africa and Winner of the 3rd Hideyo Noguchi Africa Prize (HNAP), 2019 (Tokyo);

Named by Natureamongthe 10 personalities who mattered in science in 2018 and 2019 and named by Time Magazine as one of the 100 most influential people in 2020 ;

Winner of the “CPHIA 2021” Excellence Award, presented by the African Union and the African Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Africa CDC), December 2021.

Doctor Honoris Causa of universities of Lubumbashi, DRC, (2017), Antwerp,Belgique(2019), Harvard, USA, (2022)